DISTRICT 9 COMMITTEE MEETING AUGUST 17, 2022

The District 9 Committee met on August 17, 2022. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Aaron Straub. The following members were present: Bud Brennen, Scott Deemer, Kevin Doverspike, Mike Erickson, Pete Grecco, Misty Hartle, Bill Howard, Dr. Bill Jordan, Anita Orton, Dave Osborne, Randy Reitz, John Sherry, Terry Straub, Aaron Straub, Bob Tonkin, Josh Williams, and Bonnie Wolbert.

Not attending the meeting was Dr. Tom Lesniewski.

Anna Stewart, Athletic Director at Smethport Area High School, was a guest.

MINUTES:

A motion was made Mike Erickson and seconded by Pete Grecco to approve the minutes of the June 8, 2022, meeting.

FINANCE:

A motion was made by Bill Howard and seconded by Scott Daum to approve the July and August 2022 treasurer's reports. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Scott Daum and seconded by Misty Hartle to accept the District 9 accounts receivable and payable reports. The motion carried unanimously.

The District 9 Annual Internal Audit was held on July 11, 2022 at Heindl Complex in DuBois. Audit Chairperson Mike Erickson reported there were no discrepancies found in the audit and no recommendations for change.

A motion was made by Kevin Doverspike and seconded by Mike Erickson to accept the 2022 – 2023 District 9 Tournament Entry Fees. The motion carried unanimously.

The district committee is establishing a committee to approve fees and honorariums for committee members. The committee members names will be listed in the September minutes.

A motion was made by Bill Howard and seconded by Scott Daum to set the District 9 media fees at \$75.00 for all rounds except championship rounds which will be \$100.00 and to set the District 9 streaming fees at \$150.00 for all rounds except championship rounds which will be \$300.00. The fee is per contest. District 9 schools that broadcast or stream a contest will pay one-half the fee. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Kevin Doverspike and seconded by Mike Erickson not to use HomeTown Ticketing for the 2022 – 2023 school year. The motion passes with two negative votes.

A motion was made by Terry Straub and seconded by Bill Howard to pay a commission rate of 40% for new advertisements and 30% for renewed advertisements to individuals who secure advertisements for the championship programs. The motion passed with one negative vote.

A motion was made by Bill Howard and seconded by Bonnie Wolbert to approve the following changes to the District 9 financial structure. The motion carried unanimously.

Ticket prices for all District 9 events will be \$8.00 for adults and \$4.00 for students. Athletic trainers fee \$90.00 per contest and \$30.00/hour rate for contests that are tournament structure. (wrestling, cross country, track and field, swimming, competitive spirit, etc.)

Officials fees - \$90.00/contest except championship contest \$95.00/contest.

Officials fees for tournaments will be adjusted at the same % as other positions.

Officials evaluators fee - \$50.00/contest.

Volleyball line judges - \$70.00/contest.

Support personnel - \$35.00/contest. (score keepers, ticket sellers and takers, clock operators, etc.)

Security at events – pay the rate negotiated between an security company and the school district where the event is being held.

Treasurer's reports are available upon written requests.

COMMUNICATIONS:

COOPERATIVE SPORTS AGREEMENTS:

A motion was made by Bill Jordan and seconded by Bill Howard to dissolve the presumptive cooperative sport agreement between North Clarion High School and Forest Area High Schools in junior high soccer. The motion carried by a 7 to 5 vote and 2 abstentions.

A motion was made by Pete Grecco and seconded by Bud Brennen to dissolve the cooperative sport agreement between Clarion Area High School and Union High School in wrestling. The motion carried with 2 abstentions.

A motion was made by Pete Grecco and seconded by Bud Brennen to dissolve the cooperative sport agreement between Forest Area High Schools and North Clarion High School in golf. The motion carried with 2 abstentions.

A motion was made by Terry Straub and seconded by Dave Osborne to approve the cooperative sport agreement between A C Valley High School (host school) and Union High School in competitive spirit and softball. The motion carried with 2 abstentions.

A motion was made by Bill Jordan and seconded by Bill Howard to deny the cooperative sport agreement between North Clarion High School and Clarion Area High School in junior high soccer. The motion carried by a 9 to 2 vote with 2 abstentions.

CHAIRMAN'S UPDATES:

Chairman Straub presented summaries of the Board of Directors meetings held on July 13, 2022. A summary of the meetings can be found on the PIAA website.

The next PIAA Board of Directors meeting will be September 14, 2022, at 2:00 PM and will be a Zoom meeting.

East Forest and West Forest High Schools are considering changing the name of their athletic teams to Forest Area High School. This was an informational item

ADMINISTRATIVE:

A motion was made by Bill Howard and seconded by John Sherry to accept the list of District 9 Officers and Committees. The motion carried unanimously. The Officers and Committee list can be found in the 2022 – 2023 Quick Facts.

TRANSFER REQUESTS: (FOR 2022 – 2023 SCHOOL YEAR)

<u>S</u>	T	U)	E	١	<u> 1</u>	#	
	4				_	•	_	

Student # From	<u>To</u>	Motion/Second	Approve/Deny
Elk C. C.	Cameron Co.	B.Howard/B.Brennen	Approved
Philipsburg-O.	Clearfield	T.Straub/M.Hartle	Approved
Johnsonburg	Elk C. C.	T.Straub/M.Hartle	Approved
Elk C. C.	St. Marys	J.Williams/M.Erickson	Denied

FOREIGN EXCHANGE STUDENTS APPROVED:

Student # From	<u>To</u>	Motion/Second	Approve/Deny
Bangladesh	Clearfield	B.Howard/T.Straub	Approve

ELIGIBILITY REQUEST:

Student # From	Motion/Second	Approve/Deny
Keystone	D.Osborne/B.Jordan	Approved

Waiver of Attendance – Article III Section 3

HEARINGS: None

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEES:

50 YEARS OFFICIAL'S AWARDS – Bill Howard updated the committee on the officials who will receive the awards this year. Receiving the 50 Years Official's Awards are Lee Krull, Ron Walters, Chuck Amendola, Bud Brennen, and Tony Flint. The list of the officials who have received the award is found on the District 9 Website.

SPORTMANSHIP AWARDS – Bonnie Wolbert provided the committee a list of the eligible schools for the 2021 – 2022 District 9 Sportsmanship Award. The winning school or schools will be announced at the September committee meeting.

FALL SPORTS COMMITTEES:

CROSS COUNRTY: Information is found in the "QuickFacts" booklet.

GOLF: Information is found in the "QuickFacts" booklet.

FOOTBALL: The football committee will meet after the District 9 Committee

concludes

SOCCER: Information is found in the "QuickFacts" booklet.

TENNIS: Information is found in the "QuickFacts" booklet.

VOLLEYBALL: Information is found in the "QuickFacts" booklet.

A motion was made by Terry Straub and seconded by Bill Jordan to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 2:40 PM.

The next District 9 Committee Meeting will be on September 14, 2022, at 9:00 AM at Fox's Pizza Den in Ridgway, PA.

Respectfully submitted,

Bob Tonkin
District 9 Secretary